TigerFIT

I survived the mall.

Posted on: June 3, 2011

I hate going to the mall. Hate. Hate hate. It’s not just because I have 3 kids and it always turns into a Code Adam affair, but it’s the food court and childhood memories of a mall that have some supernatural effect on me and cause me to eat my way through the place.

Back in Podunkville, we had an Orange Julius at our mall until it closed in the early 90’s. I looooove them (remind me to post my low cal/low fat/full taste Orange Julius knock off recipe some time) and I remember going there and sharing one with my dad. He died when I was 4 so it’s one of the few memories I have (wouldn’t you figure it’s food related?)

Well, this mall has an Orange Julius/DQ combo, a Chik-fil-A, a Mrs. Fields Cookie store, a Panda Express, a Cinnabon which is next to one of 2 pretzel stores, NEED I GO ON!? It’s a junk foodie’s nightmare.

It’s hard to go there without a 1,000+ calorie cookie sandwich calling my name. So what did I do this time? Let me preface this with my morning scale reading: I was down 3.6 from yesterday. That’s pretty significant even if it is off. So I repeat, what did I do when that nymph Mrs. Fields started beckoning me to come hither? I ate some damn cookies. That’s what I did. And then I had some Panda Express. Oh, and I ate like 2 of Little Red’s chicken nuggest from Chik-fil-A.

Does it sound like my day was ruined? The old me would have thought so, and then went back to get a cookie sandwich. But let me tell you how it all went down.

Husband and I shared a Panda Express meal that consisted of fried rice, chicken something, and chicken something.  I ate about 1/3 of it and not a lot of rice, so I estimate that to be around 5 points. I ate 2 nuggets for 1 point a piece, and I had 4 mini cookie bites and a bite of Little Red’s cookie so that probably cost me 7 points. Do I regret it? No way. I went to the mall, I ate some really good trigger foods, and all it cost me was 14 points. That’s pretty spectacular if you ask me. I didn’t feel denied, I didn’t feel unsatisfied, I didn’t feel guilty. I enjoyed every bite. If I had avoided the mall and all the temptations that lie within, I would have missed out on some quality time with my kiddos. I’d give up all my points for that.

Let’s get some dialogue going. What are your triggers and how do you manage them?

Leave a comment