TigerFIT

Vegetarian Biscuits and Gravy

Posted on: June 28, 2011

I hate having to give up good ole comfort food so I can hoard my points and hide in a closet and eat a bag of cookies. Seriously! Sometimes I just want some good, tasty food!

Announcing the birth of Vegetarian Biscuits and Gravy

Easy Peasy.

  • 1 package of MorningStar Crumbles (they come in Grillers’ variety and Sausage Crumbles. I couldn’t find the Sausage Crumbles so I added maple flavoring to get mock the flavor and it worked well!)
  • 1/4 C Flour ( I had whole wheat on the counter, so out of laziness and curiosity I used it. It worked as well as white flour would have.)
  • 2 C 1% milk (you could use fat free half & half with no change in points)
  • Bread of your choice (BREAD IS NOT COUNTED IN THE POINTS VALUE!)
  1. Place a package of Soy Crumbles in a pan over medium heat.
  2. Add 1/4 C flour to the soy crumbles. Stir, coating the crumbles.
  3. Turn heat up to medium high. Add milk. If you aren’t using the sausage flavored crumbles, add maple flavoring now.
  4. Stir until it becomes a rolling boil.  Continue stirring, it will stick to the pan if you don’t.
  5. Once mixture has become thickened, remove from heat.
  6. Serve over bread item of your choice (We used frozen 4 point [5 WWPointsPlus] Grands Biscuits. Frozen Grands don’t have that ‘chemically’ taste that their refrigerator tube relatives have. I know they’re not light, but I’m already eating sausage-less biscuits and gravy so cut me some slack!)

Servings- Approx six 2/3 C servings.  That’s enough to cover 2-3 biscuit halves.

Points Per Serving- Each 2/3 C has 2 points (3 WW PointsPlus)

This would taste REALLY GOOD over 100 calorie (1 point/3 PointsPlus) English Muffins. If you’re trying to cut points, I’m sure that would work out without sacrificing the experience.

Leave a Reply

