TigerFIT

Low-Fat Mini Mexican Chalupas

Posted on: September 25, 2011

I don’t know why I don’t think about dinner until 5. Everyone is crying and fighting and then I get a flash of inspiration “OH! They’re hungry!” 

This was born out of a moment of frustration and a lack of time. I’m sure the troops would have revolted against me if I hadn’t fed them quickly. 

I took a can of refried beans, whole wheat bagel thins, cheese, a little seasoning, and 10 minutes later I had dinner. I was the beloved hero again.

Ingredients:

5 Bagel thins or English Muffins, Split

1 Can Fat Free Refried Beans

2 t. taco seasoning (or use your own: I used 1 t. garlic powder, 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. cumin)

2 C shredded cheese

Toppings- Ideas include: Fresh spinach, salsa, fresh tomatoes, onions, really anything you want or have on hand.

  1. Split the bread in half. Mix the refried beans with the seasoning and spread onto the halves.

 

You notice the bite – An anonymous little redhead was too hungry to wait

2. Top with cheese and set under the broiler for 3-5 minutes. WATCH them so they don’t burn. It may take less or more time, depending upon your oven.

3. Once the cheese is melted and golden, remove from the broiler. Top with whatever you want. I only had spinach and salsa on hand. 

They were SO GOOD! And quick! 10 minutes from start to finish. 15 if you count cleaning 🙂

WW Points (old points) – 5 for two halves. Filling!

NOTE: I didn’t use the entire can, so don’t feel obligated to. You can use more or less cheese to your taste, just remember to adjust the points.

Leave a Reply

