TigerFIT

Mushroom and Asparagus Pasta

Posted on: September 25, 2011

This is another “what the *&#$ am I gonna make for dinner real quick?” kind of moment. The kids had been at the Theme Park all day and came home expecting to have dinner ready. I thought they were going to eat somewhere for dinner. That was a fun dilemma. And ensuing argument. But oh well, I made this incredible dinner in about 20 minutes.

I know I keep saying I’m not a pasta fan, BUT THIS WAS GOOD! Maybe it’s because I used bowtie pasta. I really hate spaghetti, I think it’s a texture thing. But the bowties worked well for me.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box pasta
  • 1 24-28 oz. jar pasta sauce
  • 2-3 t. Italian Seasoning (I used garlic, oregano, basil, onion poweder and salt/pepper)
  • 12 oz. can of V8 (or just add more pasta sauce. I only did this to add some nutrients)
  • 1/2 C fat free half & half
  • 8 oz. sliced mushrooms
  • 4-5 pieces of Asparagus, cut into quarters
  • 1 t. olive oil
  • 1 t. butter
  • 1/4 Parmesan Cheese + 1 tsp 

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the pasta sauce, V8, and Italian seasoning. 
  3. Meanwhile, place olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add asparagus, and cook until tender crisp. 
  4.  In the same pan, place the mushrooms and cook them. Add the 1 tsp of butter, and cook until they brown and get almost crispy. Sprinkle 1 tsp of cheese on the veggie mixture. 
  5. The pasta sauce should have boiled down by now.  Add the half and half, and the Parmesan cheese. Continue cooking. 
  6. Add the mushroom and asparagus mixture to the sauce, reserving a little to garnish the pasta with.
  7. Pour sauce over pasta, garnish with the veggies, top with a little more Parmesan and ENJOY!

The half and half makes the sauce a little creamy, a nice blend of a white and a red sauce. 

Makes 6 Servings

Old WW Points per serving: 6

Leave a Reply

