TigerFIT

Warm Turkey & Veggie Pasta Salad

Posted on: September 25, 2011

I never know what to do with Turkey Kielbasa, yet I still buy it. I’m not a big meat or sausage fan, but it needed to be cooked and I had some veggies that needed to be used, so I made a pasta salad. 

Ingredients:

  • zucchini, sliced and chopped
  • tomatoes, quartered
  • baby spinach
  • assorted colored peppers sliced
  • 1 box of pasta (I used shells)
  • 16 oz. turkey kielbasa 
  • 1/2 C fat free Italian Dressing
  • The Laughing Cow lite cheese wedge (I used herb flavored)

Directions:

  1. Boil the water for your pasta. Meanwhile, prep veggies and slice the turkey sausage and cook it in a pan until it gets browned and crisp on the surface.
  2. Once the pasta is cooked, drain and place it in a bowl. You want the pasta to still be kind of warm, so it will melt the cheese and wilt the spinach. Add veggies and sausage.

2. Pour dressing into bowl along with cheese wedge.

3. Stir and combine all the ingredients, making sure everything is evenly coated. 

You can either eat the pasta warm, or cool it off.  The longer it sits with the dressing, the more flavor it absorbs, but really it was good both cold and warm. 

I didn’t figure out the individual points values, but the entire salad is 24 points. It easily can make 6 or more servings, it just depends upon how much you eat. I’m not huge on pasta so I only ate about a 1 cup serving which I estimate to be about 4 points. 

Leave a Reply

